Hello!
I apologize for the confusion there, but I'd like to make sure everyone understands 2.5 isn't removing data - it's
moving data. It's just that when the first launch of 2.5 doesn't go as we expected the data is so far from where you'd expect it to be that it'll look like it's completely erased. I'll explain.
2.5 is now sandboxed, which means we have to tell the Mac what we plan to do with the app ahead of time. Networking, printing, reading or writing files - those are toys in our sandbox that we now have to request permission to play with. One problem is that we can't access files or folders without your permission, and we're not allowed to ask to access just anything, like our default data location of ~/Library/Application Support/Splasm Software, Inc./CheckBook 2. What Apple recommends is a "sandbox container migration", which is an automatic process the Mac handles for us where a particular folder is moved to an app's sandbox container folder, and that's a good bit deeper in ~/Library than you might know to look.
What's happening to some users is they open the new version, the new version asks if they want to upgrade their data and store it in a new document, but the user cancels the data upgrade. The data is automatically moved as part of the sandbox container migration, but when the data upgrade is canceled the app doesn't know what to do - it thinks the user knows what they're doing, so it just waits for them to make the next move, ie. create a new document or open an existing document. That's why we posted the instructions at
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4603 , to give folks an idea of what to do when they open the new version and nothing happens.
If you look in
~/Library/Containers/com.splasm.checkbook2/Data/Library/Application Support/Splasm Software, Inc./CheckBook 2 your Accounts.plist should be there. CheckBook 2.5 doesn't store data in property lists anymore, but it can open them. Tell 2.5 to open that Accounts.plist and it'll ask if it's OK to upgrade the data and save it in a new document, just like the first time 2.5 was opened. Tell it to continue, let it create the new document, and you should be up and running.
We appreciate your feedback, though we're not happy that you had some tense times earlier. It could've been a smoother ride if we realized some folks would cancel the data upgrade without knowing all that entails. We could've coded a special introduction that carefully explains things and prevents canceling. We'll learn and make changes.
I hope that helps. Let us know if you have any additional questions and we'll be happy to help with the details!